AmaKhosi beat Arrows to book Last 16 spot

Kaizer Chiefs thrashed Lamontville Golden Arrows 3-0 in the Nedbank Cup Last 32 match at the FNB Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

As a result, Amakhosi booked their place in the Last 16, while Abafana Bes'thende were eliminated from the tournament.

Amakhosi did most of the attacking in the opening stages of the game and they nearly broke the deadlock through Leonardo Castro 14 minutes into the game.

The Colombian striker, who was making his first start for Amakhosi, launched a powerful shot which was saved by Arrows goalkeeper Maximilian Mbaeva.

Two minutes later, Chiefs wing-back Joseph Molangoane's dangerous curling cross was also snatched by Mbaeva as the hosts searched for the opening goal.

Abafana Bes'thende then suffered a blow as Kudakwashe Mahashe went down injured and he was replaced by Nduduzo Sibiya in the 19th minute.

However, the visitors pushed for the opening goal and in the 39th minute Mzwandile Buthelezi's effort was tipped over the crossbar by Chiefs keeper Itumeleng Khune.

Chiefs defender Teenage Hadebe then made a crucial clearance as Amakhosi contained Abafana Bes'thende until the match referee blew the halftime whistle.

The score was 0-0 between Arrows and Chiefs during the halftime break.

It took only seven minutes for Amakhosi to break the deadlock after restart when Willard Katsande's cross was tapped home by Ryan Moon to make it 1-0 to Chiefs.

Arrows pushed for the equalising goal with Khune forced to make a save from Knox Mutizwa's attempt from close range on the hour-mark.

The Zimbabwe international, who was looking lively for visitors, watched on as his countryman Hadebe blocked his goal-bound shot and Katsande made a clearence.

However, Abafana Bes'thende were left vulnerable at the back as they attacked in numbers in the closing stages of the game.

The visitors were punished by Bernard Parker, who beat Mbaeva with a good finish to make it 2-0 to Chiefs in the 81st minute.

Amakhosi were running rampant as Molangoane sealed Chiefs' 3-0 victory following a good move in 83rd minute after Khune had denied Yussef Jappie.

The match ended 3-0 in favour of Chiefs, who advanced to the Last 16 of the lucrative tournament.

Chiefs (0) 3 (Moon, Parker, Molangoane)

Arriows (0) 0

Chiefs: Khune, Mphahlele, Zulu, Hadebe, Cardoso, Katsande, Molangoane, Meyiwa (Tshabalala 84'), Castro (Parker 71'), Ntshangase (Ekstein 65'), Moon.

Arrows: Mbaeva, Buthelezi, Nonyane (Dlamini 54'), Mzava, Mngwengwe, Shongwe, Conco (Jappie 64'), Ndwandwe, Zuke, Mutizwa, Mahachi (Sibiya 19'