MTN8 - A look back on last season

The new MTN8 season kicks off on Friday night, but how much do you remember about the 2015/16 competition?

For one thing, there was a first-time winner last year as Ajax Cape Town were crowned champions.

The Urban Warriors beat defending champions Kaizer Chiefs 1-0 at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in Port Elizabeth to take the title with Nathan Paulse's 56th-minute penalty the difference between the two sides. looks back at some of the other important numbers from the competition and at the same time refreshes memories about what happened in 2015.

1 - The Urban Warriors had never previously won the MTN8 title. They reached two previous finals (2000 and 2009) where they ended as runners-up.

2 - Ajax's win also meant that Western Cape were now second on the provincial list for Top Eight titles. The region also won the 2002 edition through Santos. Gauteng leads the way with 35 overall titles. Four other provinces have won the title on a single occasion each. Cape Town City FC represents the region this year.

3 - The number of clean sheets kept by Ajax in the 2015 competition. Apart from blanking out Chiefs in the final, they also denied Orlando Pirates from scoring in the quarter-final and Bidvest Wits in the semi-final second-leg.

3 - This was the number of goals scored by competition top-scorer George Lebese. The Chiefs attacker netted a brace in the last eight against Maritzburg United and added another to his tally in the second-leg semi-final against Bloemfontein Celtic. Three players ended on two goals each - Amakhosi frontman Bernard Parker, Bidvest Wits' veteran Namibian Henrico Botes and final hero Paulse.

5 - The number of cup finals previously reached by Ajax coach Roger de Sa without ending on the winning side. Fortunately it was sixth time lucky for the former Bafana Bafana goalkeeper.

6 - Chiefs' final loss meant they joined Pirates with the unwanted distinction of ending runners-up the most times. They were also silver medal winners one time each in the 1970s and 80s as well as 1995, 2004 and 2011. Mamelodi Sundowns ended as bridesmaids five times.

7 - Amakhosi were the top-scoring team in 2015 after netting seven times. The Urban Warriors only scored four goals, but crucially they came at the right times and were enough to win the title. Semi-finalists the Students also netted four times.

15 - Chiefs failed to add to their overall record of 15 Top Eight tournament wins. Pirates are next best on nine wins. Both are participating this year, with Chiefs opening their account against Cape Town City, while the Buccaneers play Bidvest Wits in their opening game.

22 - The total number of goals scored in last season's competition. That was the same as 2014 year, which was the second fewest in the MTN8 era - since 2008 - with 25 coming in 2013, 28 in 2012 and 22 in 2011. The fewest was 20 (2010) and the most 30 (2009), while the inaugural event in 2008 produced 26 goals.

The full results from the 2015 edition competition were as follows:


Orlando Pirates 0 Ajax Cape Town 1

Bidvest Wits 3 Supersport United 1 (a.e.t.)

Mamelodi Sundowns 1 Bloemfontein Celtic 1 (Celtic won 4-2 on penalties)

Kaizer Chiefs 5 Maritzburg United 3 (a.e.t.)

Semi-finals (First-leg)

Ajax Cape Town 1 Bidvest Wits 1

Bloemfontein Celtic 1 Kaizer Chiefs 1

Semi-finals (Second-leg)

Kaizer Chiefs 1 Bloemfontein Celtic 0

Bidvest Wits 0 Ajax Cape Town 1


Ajax Cape Town 1 Kaizer Chiefs 0