MTN8: 2015 So Far In Numbers

The 2015/16 MTN8 semi-finals were concluded over the weekend with defending champions Kaizer Chiefs and Ajax Cape Town clinching a place in the final later this month.

Both won by 2-1 aggregate margins over Bloemfontein Celtic and Bidvest Wits respectively. looks at some important numbers from this competition and past seasons involving the two finalists.

0 - Coaches of the finalists Steve Komphela and Roger de Sa are both men with vast experience in South African football. But surprisingly, both are yet to win the title.

1 - The 2014 winners Chiefs have only managed one clean sheet in the competition so far. This compared to the three at the same stage last season. In fact they did not concede a single goal in the entire edition last year. Ajax have two clean sheets thus far.

2 - This represents the number of times Ajax have reached the final previously. They were runners up on both occasions, famously losing the 2009 final 6-0 when they were hammered by Lamontville Golden Arrows. They also reached the 2000 spectacle, winning the silver medal after a 2-1 loss to Orlando Pirates.

3 - George Lebese is the leading goal-scorer in the 2015 competition with two goals in the opening round and the crucial one in the last four to book Amakhosi their final spot.

3 - Also the number of reds that have been handed out in this season's competition. The players dismissed were Kingston Nkhatha (SuperSport United), Buhle Mkhwanazi and Siyabonga Nhlapo (both Bidvest Wits).

4 - The number of times Chiefs have won the title in the Premier Soccer League (PSL) era, which began in 1996.

4 - The number of goals Chiefs have conceded in their last six appearances in finals.

6 - Since the inception of the PSL, Chiefs have reached six finals, winning four of them.

7 - Chiefs have unsurprisingly scored the most goals in the 2015 edition of the MTN8, bolstered by the five in a single match against Maritzburg United.

12 - The number of times a club from Gauteng has won the Top Eight title in 16 editions since 1996. Only four clubs from outside that province have managed to win the season-opening competition. Santos (2002), Celtic (2005), Arrows (2009) and Platinum Stars (2013).

21 - This is the total number of goals scored thus far with the most in a single game being eight. That came from the 5-3 quarter-final match-up between Chiefs and Maritzburg on August 5.